Alison Krauss Sings Be Thou My Vision

Mountain in County Cork, Ireland: http://www.monikateal.com

I found myself feeling very discouraged last night.

Raising children, well, it’s…

it’s umm.

Yeah. I found myself feeling very discouraged last night.

Thankfully, no one was clamoring for the computer, so I YouTubed myself through the whole Taylor family – James, along with his children Ben and Sally.

At some point, I ended up on replay with Alison Krauss singing:

Be Thou My Vision

Be Thou my Vision, O Lord of my heart;
Naught be all else to me, save that Thou art.
Thou my best Thought, by day or by night,
Waking or sleeping, Thy presence my light.

Be Thou my Wisdom, and Thou my true Word;
I ever with Thee and Thou with me, Lord;
Thou my great Father, I Thy true son;
Thou in me dwelling, and I with Thee one.

Be Thou my battle Shield, Sword for the fight;
Be Thou my Dignity, Thou my Delight;
Thou my soul’s Shelter, Thou my high Tower:
Raise Thou me heavenward, O Power of my power.

Riches I heed not, nor man’s empty praise,
Thou mine Inheritance, now and always:
Thou and Thou only, first in my heart,
High King of Heaven, my Treasure Thou art.

High King of Heaven, my victory won,
May I reach Heaven’s joys, O bright Heaven’s Sun!
Heart of my own heart, whatever befall,
Still be my Vision, O Ruler of all.

My children are, of course, heart of my own heart.

Interested in some history from Cyber Lyrics: on this lovely song? Here you are dearie:

Words: At­trib­ut­ed to Dal­lan For­gaill, 8th Cen­tu­ry (Rob tu mo bhoile, a Com­di cri­de); trans­lat­ed from an­cient Ir­ish to Eng­lish by Ma­ry E. Byrne, in “Eriú,” Jour­nal of the School of Ir­ish Learn­ing, 1905, and versed by El­ea­nor H. Hull, 1912, alt.

Music: Slane, of Ir­ish folk or­i­gin (MI­DI, score). Slane Hill is about ten miles from Ta­ra in Coun­ty Meath. It was on Slane Hill around 433 AD that St. Pat­rick de­fied a roy­al edict by light­ing can­dles on East­er Eve. High King Lo­gaire of Ta­ra had de­creed that no one could light a fire be­fore Lo­gaire be­gan the pa­gan spring fes­ti­val by light­ing a fire on Ta­ra Hill. Lo­gaire was so im­pressed by Pat­rick’s de­vo­tion that, de­spite his de­fi­ance (or per­haps be­cause of it­), he let him con­tin­ue his mis­sion­ary work. The rest is his­to­ry.

4 thoughts on “Alison Krauss Sings Be Thou My Vision

  1. Bless your heart, Kate…thanks for inspiring me to keep the faith amidst the storms! Will be remembering you and the whole Cooper family in a special way at mass this morning. Those 4 men are lucky to have you! :)

    • Gabrielle – oh. Misted eyes just thinking about how hard both of our families are working on transition and distance. We are hard worker moms, eh? …wonderful as always to know that we are being prayed for…consider the favor returned! Pax, K.

  2. Oh, Kate. You are not alone. It IS discouraging. And for me, it’s about fear – no, deeper than fear. Raw Terror. Will He Be Ok? What Can I Do To MAKE SURE He Is Ok? And ALWAYS Will Be? Guess what – I can’t control how he turns out. AAaaahhhhhh

    And the moody, rude, distance – sigh. I have to trust it will pass. That’s his job right now. And the D’s and F’s (and A’s and A+’s) and the staying up late and missing the bus and having a girlfriend and and and and…..

    Be Thou my Wisdom, and Thou my true Word;
    I ever with Thee and Thou with me, Lord;
    Thou my great Father, I Thy true son;
    Thou in me dwelling, and I with Thee one.

    God is with HIM just like God is with me. Trust Trust Trust and pray and cry and blog and tell your friends and ask for help and sleep and sigh and read all those parenting books and pray some more.

    Love you!

    • Yeah…fear is a big factor for me too Karen. Thanks so much for the long reply! I’ve adjusted to the fear part in many ways for them as a group of three because we’ve been down many a scarey/joyful roads with his older brother.

      And control about how they turn out? Yeah. I really get that too…and I’m sure there is some of that brewing somewhere.

      This morning on an icy walk at the park I sort of settled on that, for now…it’s the work of trying to deal with all three of them as opposites. I know that if we had three more, it would be a six way pull.

      Sounds like you like one of my new theme songs too, eh?

Leave a Reply

