Would St. Mary Have Preferred a Minivan?

Wow. A few days back to our old home gave me a million post ideas to write. Now to pull them out of my head.

Yet, the life of a mom is such that:

a favorite toy got lost in the joy, I forgot to give several gifts, no cards went out, and I am even less of a “cool” mom on the teen front. In addition, I woke to the sound of barfing, the puppy seems constipated, and the other dog has a bum paw.

This Facebook post from a friend made me smile so much this morning. I think anyone who has been born into a family will enjoy it. It’s about Jesus but even if you aren’t Christian, my guess is that you have seen kids fight and speechless mom’s somewhere in your corner of the world.

Here it is:

Yesterday morning (two days post Christmas) after M. (1st grade) spoke sharply to her sister sister C.(almost 4).

(Now imagine a speechless mom Mom yelling M’s full name and adding extra middle names)

Mom to M.: Do you think Jesus would talk to His little sister like that ?

M. flounces haughtily out of the room and over her shoulder throws at Mom —

” Jesus didn’t have a little sister!”

Which brings me to two questions to ponder among the clean up, Nerf bullets and tree sparkle:

Did Mary and Joseph have other rug rats to raise and enjoy?

And, is it lucky for Mary that they didn’t have a minivan?

(After this year’s travel in close quarters I’m sort of debating this one. Car vs. Van…tough on the parents either way.)?

p.s. This is my favorite season. Many of us are in the afterglow of the bright lights and on the road to Epiphany ‘s quiet again. Just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

