I Love John Henry, You?

Big Bend National Park, Texas

John Henry was the strongest,

the most powerful man

working the rails.

~S.E. Schlosser

Yesterday a friend and I were trying to gather our courage before school let out, and ended up wandering to, of all things, a dog boutique and bakery. It was great! I generally don’t see myself as a boutique kind of gal, but I am glad to have seen with my own eyes a very cool display of doggie pizza chews, rawhide donuts, and the like.

I’m starting to catch on to the idea that city life is about trying and seeing new things.

I like.

During our few minutes of freedom, my main gripe was that my “old” laptop is worth nothing. Zilch. Zippo. Nada. When the third computer guy told me that the day before, I was nice. I thought, but didn’t say: “You.Are.But.A.Child.”

Instead, I charmed him into removing the hard drive for free and said, “You just need to understand that I was raised with a rotary phone, so the idea that these things are disposable after four years is a hard nut to swallow.”

My friend’s tough day related to being a doggie Samaritan. She and her sons had passed an immobile dog by the road on the way to school. She said that she told them that everything would be okay with the dog since they had prayed for him, but that the truth is that “he didn’t seem to have a smile on his face.”

After hearing both of these sad female tales, my friend Todd would say, “Well. There you go.”

I must say, I do appreciate love this attitude. Not always. As a wife, daughter, sister and mom of three guys, the strong male,

let’s move on

thing is sometimes confusing, and often annoying.

I know. I’m gender stereotyping, which is kind of rare, but when my youngest niece squiggled into our life I finally eased up on my “kids are kids theory.” Though I love our three nieces equally, time and distance was on my side when I was neighbors with this one and we have had many a tea party.

You know. I’m sitting here starting at the computer screen at the “let’s move on quote” and, nope, none of Aunt Kate’s girls are about moving on. Our relationships are a fun mess.

The guys in my life, strong men that they are, work the rails in each of their own ways, and, okay, taking a thinking break.

I’m back.

Nope. They all are forward moving fellows.

Interesting.

Leave a Reply

