Lazy Monday in Iowa

Yesterday I didn’t write anything. I did reply via Twitter a few times.

I also sent a few thanks to people who commented or “liked” a blog post, and left comments on a few blogs.

But that isn’t writing…that’s just water cooler chat, right?

What did I do all day?

I actively didn’t write. Oops.

I sat at my desk all day: from 7:30 when I shooed the last boy out the door, until 2:00 when it was after school pick up time.

Today it’s hard for me to conceive that I indulged almost all of that time playing games on Google+.

The

whole

day

long.

I started a farm, I started a city, and I spent most of those hours on an imaginary island clicking grass lumps, that became bushes, which then became trees. The more exciting moves were when I clicked bears, who became cemetary markers, which with some extra effort on my part, became churches.

Do you want me to continue to explain that there was a way to combine churches to create cathedrals? No? Thank God. I’m embarrassed and amazed enough as it is.

I will say that I read quite a bit early on and I listened to NPR the whole time that was capturing virtual bears, so you can now wipe the sneer off your face.

It is now 10:05, and I’m already running circles around my Monday vacation. I’ve cleared away bunches of things on the desk, read and cleared a bunch of email, worked a bit on learning to tweet more effectively, read both the Methodist and Catholic Gospels for next Sunday, and am showered, dressed and fluffed for the day.

So – off I go to do a bit of recycling, a stop at the library, a stop at the Art Museum, and a stop for a bite of something and a few minutes to jot notes about the letter that is in my head that I’d like to send to Maurice Sendak.

Oh. And I had an idea for a poem last night that came from watching a fellow in the pew ahead of me on Sunday. He had prayer cards in his hand and I was interested in how and when he grabbed them – he seemed to hold them tight during most of the mass except for the homily. I noticed that the most tattered one was of our Bishop. What a lucky guy (Bishop Amos) to have someone with such intense loyalty.

So, I’ve now fessed up on my inaction, what have you avoided or blown off lately? Or, even more interesting, how have you spent your time doing exactly the opposite of what you know you “should” be doing?

Outta here. Latah.

2 thoughts on “Lazy Monday in Iowa

  1. Thanks for checking out my blog, Katherine. In answer to your question, I did something similar on Tuesday last when I spent almost a whole day clearing up one cross stitch project and preparing to begin another – a huge, ambitious picture of Henry VIII and his wives.

Leave a Reply

