Shame on You and Your Racism Judge Cebull

One day our descendants will think it incredible that we paid so much attention to things like the amount of melanin in our skin or the shape of our eyes or our gender instead of the unique identities of each of us as

complex human beings. 

~Franklin Thomas

Sorry Franklin, we ain’t there yet.

In response to an article I just read in the Huffington Post about disgusting and outrageous racism against our black President Barak Obama, (Richard Cebull, Montana Federal Judge, Admits Forwarding Racist Obama Email) here are some quotes that reflect the reality that we are not much further than when we began.

Be nice to whites, they need you to rediscover their humanity. 

~Desmond Tutu

Laundry is the only thing that should be separated by color.  ~Author Unknown

The one place where a man ought to get a square deal is in a courtroom, be he any color of the rainbow, but people have a way of carrying their resentments right into a jury box.  As you grow older, you’ll see white men cheat black men every day of your life, but let me tell you something and don’t you forget it – whenever a white man does that to a black man, no matter who he is, how rich he is, or how fine a family he comes from, that white man is trash. 

~Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

If a white man falls off a chair drunk, it’s just a drunk.  If a Negro does, it’s the whole damn Negro race. 

~Bill Cosby

Racism isn’t born, folks, it’s taught.  I have a two-year-old son.  You know what he hates?  Naps!  End of list. 

~Dennis Leary

11 thoughts on “Shame on You and Your Racism Judge Cebull

  1. No matter how “evolved” the species gets some still need to find someone to feel superior to. I try to do my part in my classroom every day, hoping one day we will live out the quote by Franklin Thomas.

  2. Pingback: Forgiveness Friday: Quotes on Meaning | Attendance Please

  3. I applaud and admire your frankness on the issue of racism. As a minority, I feel it so often that I had to question silently about the equality that America is so proud off. I have high respect for people who see people for their goodness and generous heart and not because of their race, social status and other reasons. Somebody has to speak for those who chose to keep quiet. Beautiful photos and smiles. Such a joy. Thank you. God bless you and your family.

    • You’re welcome, and thank you for the generous comment. I’m not normally vocal or full of opinion, but the story and words that this man used were so awful I couldn’t get past it. And a day later, Rush Limbaugh took the stage with his sexism, so I guess I’m not without material if protest is a route I want to take. I can appreciate the choice to stand tall and carry on quietly. If I was in your position, I’m guessing that my personality is one that would do the same. Good wishes right back to you and your family! Take care, Kate

Leave a Reply

