Forgiveness Friday: Quotes on Meaning

Life has meaning only if one barters it

day by day

for something other than itself.
Antoine de Saint-Exupery

I’m in a bit of a lousy mood.

I could blame it on my continued disregard for Judge Richard Cebull and his racism.

But I won’t.

I could blame it on my puppy for dropping a load in my office.

But I won’t.

I could blame it on ________ or __________ or ____________.

And believe me, considering I really have little reason to be feeling or acting sour, it’s tempting to blame it all on anything but my state of mind or lack of motivation. I have a very, very good life and the blessings that this life includes should be all of the fuel I need for a wonderful day. Some days it takes more effort to see them than others.

To that end, I googled the word “meaning” and found these interesting quotes:

Friendship… is not something you learn in school. But if you haven’t learned the meaning of friendship, you really haven’t learned anything.
Muhammad Ali
Words mean more than what is set down on paper. It takes the human voice to infuse them with deeper meaning.
Maya Angelou

The reserve of modern assertions is sometimes pushed to extremes, in which the fear of being contradicted leads the writer to strip himself of almost all sense and meaning.
Winston Churchill
To live is to suffer, to survive is to find some meaning in the suffering.
Friedrich Nietzsche

Without continual growth and progress, such words as improvement, achievement, and success have no meaning.
Benjamin Franklin

You will never be happy if you continue to search for what happiness consists of. You will never live if you are looking for the meaning of life.
Albert Camus

Reason is the natural order of truth; but imagination is the organ of meaning.
C. S. Lewis

Beliefs have the power to create and the power to destroy. Human beings have the awesome ability to take any experience of their lives and create a meaning that disempowers them or one that can literally save their lives.
Tony Robbins
You see, it’s never the environment; it’s never the events of our lives, but the meaning we attach to the events – how we interpret them – that shapes who we are today and who we’ll become tomorrow.
Tony Robbins

I am quite serious when I say that I do not believe there are, on the whole earth besides, so many intensified bores as in these United States. No man can form an adequate idea of the real meaning of the word, without coming here.
Warren Buffett
2 thoughts on “Forgiveness Friday: Quotes on Meaning

  1. People would go around the world or buy the most expensive things in search for happiness but in reality happiness is in the most simple of things. That happiness is linked to love, peace , compassion, forgiveness, contentment. I like it when you said, “You will never be happy if you continue to search for what happiness consists of. You will never live if you are looking for the meaning of life.” Instead of over thinking, it’s start to live the good life…Take care…

    • Thanks Island Traveler! Camus said that, and I agree that it’s good perspective. I’m at the point in life that I’ve accepted the reality that I’m a card carrying pessimist…and that perspective is neither good or bad…it just is, and some of us have brains that are hard wired to question these good things you talk about. So, in a way, I don’t agree with Camus – questioning is what I do and that’s not a bad thing…but I do definitely agree that if doubting and searching is all I ever did…then time would be wasted for sure and my days would be filled with only
      sadness. I’m working on striking a healthy balance. Thanks again for stopping by and the generous comments!

Leave a Reply

