When In Doubt, Meditate Under a Slide

Never, and I mean never, allow anyone else’s ideas of who you can or can’t become sully your dream or pollute your imagination. This is your territory, and a KEEP OUT sign is a great thing to erect at all entrances to your imagination…Stay in a state of grace and gratitude for this resplendent gift that is always yours to do with as you choose. ~ Wayne Dyer

My husband tuned into Wayne Dyer on PBS last night. It was the first time in years that I’d listened to or read any of his advice about finding one’s passion and keeping true to that call by remaining connected to God.

I was in the kitchen sewing up a project for our son that lives in Ohio. It started as a gigantic scarf, and became a pillow after I found that the store was all out of the yarn that I was using for the project. I thought it was kind of funny that as Dyer was chirping on about the joy of being the best at whatever you do, I was stuffing the lumpiest, bumpiest pillow ever. I am proud of the mistakes though, and oddly, will miss the kooky look of these first few projects as my knitting skills improve. In any case, I worried less about our son as I worked on the ScarfWhoReallyWasAPillow, and I think he will know that I’ve missed him when it arrives in the mail later this week.

In the little bit that I listened to of the PBS show with Dyer, I heard something new and interesting which is that the man who wrote “Amazing Grace” was in the slave trade business when the song was written. It turns out that the powerful transcendent experience of writing the song eventually led him to become an abolitionist. I found some interesting links with that history here and here.

Hearing Dyer talk was reason to laugh at more than my knitting skills, it was a reminder of the funniest preschool story about one of our children. Our second born marched to the tune of his own drum from the time that he was a baby. To this day he continues to stand firm on various issues. Not long before he started preschool his father had been practicing meditation as advised by a book on tape that he’d listened to by Dyer. It involved sitting cross ways, meditation fingers connected, hands on knees, and a combination of chanting “oom” and “uum” or something to that effect.

So, after a typical first day of weeping and fretting while my second born baby spent his first day in school, I was thrown off when the teacher greeted me with: “Kate. We need to talk.” She explained that when it was time to line up and go to lunch, Will was missing and after an extensive boy hunt, he was found hiding under some play equipment.

After I apologized to the teachers and promised he would be lectured on following the rules and staying in line, we picked up his brother and went home. At some point later on in the afternoon I sat him down and asked him why in the world he was hiding, and he explained in his incredibly squeaky voice: “I didn’t like all the bumping. Dad told me that if I ever got scared to go off by myself and pray, so I was under the slide meditating.”

That’s my boy. Believe me you, it was the first of many boycotts to come. I’ve always enjoyed the fact that rather than tell me that he got scared when he heard them yelling his name, he explained his moral ground first.

But isn’t that great? Whether it is by meditation, or prayer or knitting or running a race – wouldn’t it be great if we could have the sense of a three-year old and have no apologies because we want to just follow our heart where it takes us? Unfortunately, as adults, being bumped by life takes more than ten minutes under a red slide, but I suppose we need to start somewhere, eh?

Need inspiration before going off to do something with three-year old abandon? Have a listen to Eva Cassidy singing Somewhere Over the Rainbow to get you in the mood.

Leave a Reply

