More Summer Reading: Temple Grandin Essay in “This I Believe”

Image

“Because I have autism…here’s how my brain works:

 

It’s like the search engine Google for images.

 

If you say the word ‘love’ to me, I’ll surf the Internet inside my brain.

 

Then, a series of images pops into my head. What I’ll see is a picture of a mother horse with a foal; or think of ‘Herbie, the Love Bug’; scenes from the Movie The Love Story; or the Beatles song ‘Love, love, love, all you need is love…’ …

 

Some people might think if I could snap my fingers I’d choose to be ‘normal.’ But, I wouldn’t want to give up my ability to see in beautiful, precise pictures. I believe in them.”

 

~ taken from an essay: ‘Seeing in Beautiful, Precise Pictures’ by Temple Grandin, part of the collection:  This I Believe: The Personal Philosophies of Remarkable Men and Women .

Leave a Reply

