“Proud” : Easy to Learn in ASL

11188262_825705304161925_1221999162433126540_n This is what I wrote on my Facebook page this morning:

“I’m waking up feeling so thankful about the tight little group of friends that I am making.

 

I wasn’t ready to make friends for two years – yet the key was barely in our new door before my neighbor sent fresh-baked cookies…and how can one resist being hopeful with daily jokes from a sign language interpreter who was my first coworker in this new town we are in ?…and now the list goes on.

 

I’m just as introverted and still need hours of solitude and some of my rough edges will never go away, and that’s okay… and the work load is kind of huge, and it is going to get exponentially bigger soon….

 

When I first registered for these classes I sent a note to my (speech therapist) friend about how unreasonably worried I was that I was making a mistake to be taking this side route at this point in life and his main comforting advise was :

 

‘Your brain will be so happy, and if your brain is happy, your family will be happy.’

 

So, if you are wondering if those articles that you’ve read about language, foreign language especially being good for your noggin? It’s true. Do it. It’s not too late…

 

my class mates are saying the same thing…it’s like our heads smolder with information and vocabulary and grammar rules and confusion and then we go to these Deaf social events…and it works.

 

It’s like having a popcorn popper suddenly launch with yummy linguistic happy time. We understand, they understand us, and if there’s a mix up, who cares, we are still cordially invited to another event! So. That’s what I have to say this morning. Have a good day.”

11054444_817268375005618_6549938944609850678_nP.S. I apologize to the t-shirt company that advertised these shirts…if I can find you again – I will post a link and advertise for you!

P.P.S. The green t-shirt is showing how to do the word “proud” in American Sign Language.

3 thoughts on ““Proud” : Easy to Learn in ASL

Leave a Reply

